Also known as a provisional driver’s licence, a learner’s permit is a document that allows a person to learn how to drive practically. It allows you to handle the car without having passed the test. It is a limited permission that gives a person who is in the middle of learning how to drive but hasn’t satisfied the criteria needed to drive fully.
You might also have lost your licence, and it is in the process of being replaced. Regardless of the circumstances. you need to know what happens when you get involved in an accident with only a permit. Contact a Florida car accident lawyer should be one of your priorities.
The law is constantly changing, and you need to stay updated, which is why you need to work with a lawyer who has handled similar claims before. You need to know what to expect when you go to court and what to expect from other parties that are involved.
The Florida Law: what it says about Learner’s Permits
Florida law declares that drivers that are 15 years or more and have passed the required examinations can drive a vehicle. However, they must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and sits in the front seat all the time.
“Teen crash risk is highest the first three months after they receive their driver’s licence.”
The law also allows these drivers to only handle the vehicle during daylight hours. If they don’t have any tickets three months down the line, they can drive up to 10.00 PM.
Failing to comply with these laws can result in penalties depending on the violation. The first thing that the police consider when an accident happens is age. If the driver is below 18 years old. The guardian that signed the application is held responsible for the damages caused.
If the person is over 18 years old, they are responsible for signing the application. If the driver lives with the parents, they can still be held liable for the accident.
What to Do During an Accident
Treat the accident with the driver on a learner’s permit just like any other car accident. Call the police to the scene so that they can document the accident home depot health check. This report is vital when you need to corroborate your story with a credible witness. Even if you feel that the accident is minor, you still need to call 911.
Don’t forget to exchange information with the other driver. This is ideal when you have to file a claim for compensation so that they can be tracked down. Make sure you note down his name, phone number, address, and licence plate number. If possible, get the vehicle registration and identification number as well.
Get yourself checked for injuries by visiting a doctor who can know the extent of the injuries to quantify the damages. While at it, don’t forget to get the medical report and copies of the receipts.
Document the damages to your vehicle.
Take pictures of the other vehicle and the scene of the accident as well.
Next, call a local car accident lawyer. In such auto accidents, you might get confused and make decisions that might affect how the claim progresses. Call a lawyer and explain to him the circumstances that led to the car accident. The accident lawyer advises you on what to do. And when to do it so that you don’t affect the way the case goes. Don’t make any unnecessary statements, and don’t post statements on social media.
Depending on how you handle the claim, there will be consequences for the driver if they were breaking the rules of the permit. The violation happens when the driver is driving alone and without a licensed person to monitor them. Drivers face fines of up to $500 and might have to take additional safety training lessons to get their license back.
Call an Auto Accident Lawyer Today
When you find yourself in an accident involving a driver with a learner’s permit, you need the experience of a car accident lawyer to help with the situation. The lawyer handles the claim as per the laws of Florida. Making sure you get compensated for damages and injuries caused. You should be compensated for all your medical expenses, missed work, damages and future expenses due to the accident.
Read More : Health Benefits Of Hand Chairs At Work